Kaieteur News – President Irfaan Ali on Friday administered the Oath of Office to two members of the Teaching Service Commission (TSC) at the Office of the President (OP) thereby fully constituting the Commission.

The two members are: Mrs. Satti Jaisierisingh and Mr. Lancelot Baptiste.

In December, five Commissioners were sworn in by President Irfaan Ali: Mr. Maydha Persaud, Mrs. Doodmattie Singh, Mrs. Joan Ann David-Monkhouse, Mrs. Shafiran Bhajan, and Mr. Mohammed Saddam Hussain.

The TSC appoints teachers in the Teaching Service (non-board schools), removes and exercises disciplinary control over persons holding or acting in such office, and also ensures that no claims of partiality of any nature can be justifiable be made against it.

During the simple ceremony, the President said, “I would just urge the two newly sworn members of the Commission to review my comments when we sworn the other members of the Commission. I want to congratulate you and wish you well on this journey as we seek to further strengthen our education system, as we seek to ensure we build an institutional environment in which our teachers are treated fairly in which the process of governance continue to improve and deliver in a manner in which all can find acceptable standard and can find good governance.”

The Head of State said that the functions entrusted on the Commission must “not be taken lightly” while charging the Commissioners to be faithful to their oaths and to execute their duties with professionalism.

“Your actions will contribute, in no small measures, to ensure that the Teaching Profession is populated by persons that are worthy of educating the present and future generations,” President Ali said.

Present at the swearing in ceremony yesterday were Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Anil Nandlall, SC and Chief Education Office (CEO), Mr. Saddam Hussain.