The fifty-eight (58) National Schools’ Cycling, Swimming and Track and Field Championships is expected to be bigger and better this year. The annual event was officially launched at the Ministry of Education’s Boardroom today.

The national inter-school sports meet is a collaboration between the Ministry of Education and the Guyana Teachers Union (GTU) and for the second time in its history will be hosted at the National Track and Field Centre at Leonora. The action commences on November 25 and runs until November 30

President of the GTU, Mark Lyte noted that over the years, the Schools’ Championship has produced several athletes of high calibre who went on to represent Guyana at various regional and international meets. Lyte pointed out that seven athletes who competed at the Schools’ Championships last year, represented Guyana at the Caribbean Union of Teachers u-15 Championship.
Following that competition, they won six medals; two gold medals, one silver and three bronze. Lyte also noted that Cleveland Ford, who is a recent recipient of a National Award, is also a product of the Schools’ Championships.

“I highlight this to let you know that coming out of the National Championship, we have seen several athletes who will go beyond the shores of Guyana to represent us… Let us look forward together and let us work, hand in hand and side by side to bring off the best year of these championships,” he stated.

In her remarks, Minister of Education, Nicolette Henry said the event provides students with the necessary skills needed to survive in the 21st century adding that it would take more than just literacy and numeracy.

“The breadth of skills required to survive in the 21st century speaks more to the issue of teamwork and collaboration and corporation, these are the things that you get out of sports. You have to organize yourself well, you have to work as a team in order to get the best outcome.”

The Minister shared her anticipation of witnessing the competition. “I look forward to even better things as we move forward and I trust that we are going to spot some great talent this year as we have done in the past.”

Director of Sport, Christopher Jones and Chief Education Officer (CEO), Marcel Hutson also echoed similar sentiments.

The primary sponsor of the event – Banks DIH Limited was recognised for their long-standing support to the games for the past 57 years.

Fourteen other districts will be seeking to dethrone the 2017 winners, Upper Demerara/Kwakwani (District 10) to claim the coveted title as Champions.